Sparks 2016 Banner
Please note that because of impending weather the SPARKS literary festival has been postponed until Feb 5th.
Time Event
11 - 11.15 a.m. Opening Remarks
Dr. Jennifer Lokash, Head, Department of English
11.15 - 12.30 p.m. SESSION 1:Reading
Chair: Lisa Moore
Writers: Chad Pelley, Allison Graves, Andreae Callanan, Justin Brake
12.30 - 12.45 p.m. Book signing
Moderator: Chad Pelley
Writers: Michael Crummey, Mary Dalton, Philippa Jones (and possibly Justin Brake)
1.45 - 2.45 p.m. COFFEE BREAK & BOOK SIGNING
2.45 - 4.00 p.m. SESSION 3: READINGS
Chair: Amy Donovan
Writers: Russell Wangersky, Susie Taylor, Matthew Hollett, Eva Crocker
4.00 - 4.15 p.m. BOOK SIGNING
4.15 - 5.30 p.m. SESSION 4: READINGS
Chair: Allison Graves
Writers: Ed Riche, Dave Paddon, Bridget Canning, Amy Donovan
5:30 – 6:00 pm NQ Nonfiction Fellowship Announcement
SPARKS Poetry Prize Announcement
Cox and Palmer SPARKS Creative Writing Award Announcement
Landfall Trust Residency
Brief closing remarks: Jennifer Lokash
6.00 p.m. Reception for all in the foyer of the School of Music


The SPARKS Literary Festival was founded in 2009 by poet and professor Mary Dalton, who served as the festival's director for the first 6 years. Now organized by Memorial's Department of English with ongoing support from the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, SPARKS continues to celebrate the literary creations of Newfoundland and Labrador and showcase writers at various stages of their creative lives. It is what Dalton has called a "word spree." The festival also makes available displays of books and journals published in Newfoundland and Labrador and a mini-bookstore featuring works by the authors reading at the festival.


SPARKS Literary Festival is active on Facebook. Visit our page for the social side of SPARKS!